Skip to content

How it all began

19/12/2010

In November my husband and I adopted two kittens, both rescued strays. We went to an adoption fair where there were around 20 kittens needing homes. Most of these kittens were picked up off the streets. Stray and feral cats and dogs are a depressingly common sight here in Brazil. It was heart-breaking to see them, but of course, we couldn’t take them all.

So, how did we choose? Well, when a cat becomes permanently affixed to your person after being picked up I think it is pretty clear that IT has picked YOU. And that is exactly what happened. I picked up a gorgeous little pale kitten who immediately crawled to my shoulder and sat there like a happy little parrot. It was love at first cuddle and I knew straight away that I would call her Princess and that she was the prettiest cat ever.

But then someone pointed out that my princess was, in fact, a boy! So I needed to think of a new name, which was probably just as well.

So we needed to pick another boy as I wanted to adopt two of the same sex, but every cat we looked at was female. Then we saw him, a beautiful tabby cat with huge ears and big green eyes. My husband picked him up and he started purring instantly.

Meet Zé and Mr Spock: Click on the next posts to see their bios.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 25/03/2011 9:16 am

    Ha, I made it. I read all your blog entries!
    Just thought I should let you know. Your cats are adorable!

    • 25/03/2011 12:54 pm

      Wow, you read through them all!
      Thank you for your perseverance 🙂

Leave a Reply

