Skip to content

The Andrex Kitty

10/01/2011

One day last week I found little paw prints all over the toilet seat in the en-suite. My husband said that the cats had probably been drinking out of the toilet. My reply was “No, it’s only dogs that do that.”

Next day…

I find Spock with his arse in the air, head in the bowl, drinking the sweet nectar of the ‘porcelain throne’.

I don’t know why. We always keep their water bowl fresh and it’s nice, clean mineral water, not the bad stuff that comes out of the pipes here (a note: If you come to Brazil don’t drink the water!). So now both toilet seats are kept closed but he still jumps up to check. Sometimes we forget and he manages to get a couple of sips before we catch him at it. It’s become a game for him and Spock loves games!

Yesterday he discovered the wonder that is toilet paper!

Actually, that’s not quite accurate. For the last few days I have been discovering little scraps of toilet paper dotted around the apartment. I assumed that one of the cats had found a piece somewhere and that they played with it just because it was there in front of them.

Then, yesterday, I found  a stream of paper stretched across the hallway. One end was shredded and there were scraps of paper all over the place. I went to the en-suite to check, and yes, there was the bare toilet roll tube on the holder.

We don’t usually use that bathroom so I decided not to replace the toilet roll and thought no more of it.

Half an hour later…

I found another stream of toilet paper coming from the main bathroom, longer this time, and with a cat frantically attacking one end. He was methodically destroying each piece and then moving on to the next. A frenzied beast in 2-ply blood lust. He was nestled on top of his kill. A king of cats on a bed of soft tissue (or ‘bog roll’ as I like to call it). He looked up when he realised that he had been caught. Never have I seen a look of less remorse!

So now the toilet paper is kept on top of the shower cubicle where even I can only just reach it. I do not expect this to be the end though. Sometime, somehow Spock will find it!

Today (yes, there’s more…)

The empty toilet roll tube has vanished from the holder…

running with tube

biting tube

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 10/01/2011 4:55 pm

    Must defeat evil toilet paper! So glad my cat has never done this.

    • 10/01/2011 5:13 pm

      I’ve had cats for many years and Spock is the only one ever to do this. I think he might be half dog!

  2. 03/04/2011 2:18 pm

    My cat Shelli also loves to drink out of the toilet! Or out of mucky puddles. I don’t think I’ve ever seen her drink lovely fresh clean water from her own bowl!

    • 03/04/2011 2:54 pm

      They can be odd creatures sometimes. My two now like to push the bowl around the kitchen until the water all spills out then they happily lick the water off the floor. I really don’t know what it is about the bowl that offends them.

Trackbacks

  1. The Andrex Kitty strikes again | A Life Bewhiskered

Leave a Reply

