Skip to content

Pets: Their lives are in your hands…literally!

23/01/2011

I am a fan of Franny Syufy who looks after/writes for the cat pages on About.com. In fact she was very complimentary about my blog when I submitted it.

‘Franny Syufy, Cats Guide, says: Nice blog, heading in the right direction. I loved the Zen lessons by Zé, and the sardine dinner cartoon was soooo typical!’ I was really chuffed with this as I respect her opinion. After all, she must read hundreds of these blogs!

Anyway (that’s enough self-congratulation for now), I often peruse the new (and old) articles there and I’ve picked up some interesting tips on cat health and behaviour. I do leave the occasional comment, but today I felt the need to really have a rant. My comment went in for mediation…and was approved, so I obviously didn’t cross the line in my horror and anger.

I really feel that the health and wellbeing of any animal I keep should be my highest priority. Yes, it can be hard to pay vet bills, but if I have to eat nothing but boiled carrots for a month to pay for needed care then I will (I’ve never had to do this…but I’ve come close!).

mini zé

Zé at 2 months old (and my husband's foot).

The particular article in question is one about kitten health. When I read the readers’ comments underneath I could have cried. Have a look for yourselves here. My comment is at the end, number 48. You might notice that I didn’t link it back to here, maybe that was a little cowardly on my part.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 25/01/2011 8:19 am

    Eleanor, I feel your pain — which is why I myself am not going to read what upset you. I find I just can’t take that kind of sadness. But given that you have read that stuff — I’m hoping to offer you another story, to inspire and help heal. You may have seen it, but in case you haven’t, I wrote about it yesterday:
    http://catself.wordpress.com/2011/01/23/a-purr-in-the-park/
    And: that pic of Ze & hubby’s foot is just too sweet.

    • 25/01/2011 7:15 pm

      I don’t blame you – I was so furious.
      Oh, but Meatie! I love that story. I’m a sucker for a happy ending.

  2. 25/01/2011 2:59 pm

    Hi – found your blog via Pet Blogs United! I have found that reading reader comments to any article about pet care makes my blood pressure skyrocket, and it appalls me that there are so many people out there that don’t seem to understand that pets are a real responsibility. Like you, I’d eat boiled carrots every day for a month in order to pay the vet bills if one of my babies needed veterinary care.

    Great blog! I will be subscribing.

    • 25/01/2011 7:02 pm

      Thank you Melanie. And don’t worry, I won’t be getting this serious too often. It goes against my reasons for starting this blog, I want it to be fun and light-hearted. But sometimes you read/see something that just makes you so angry that you want to shout about it to everyone!

      I’ve just had a peek at your blog. Your Household Glossary page is brilliant…and you have a greyhound, I love greyhounds! I will pop back to have a proper read and subscribe.

  3. 25/01/2011 10:45 pm

    Hi Eleanor!
    Found you over at PBU and am soooo glad to meet you!
    I also couldn’t read the post because those kinds of things completely enrage me.
    I think your blog is adorable and Cody and I are proud to be your newest followers!
    Hope you will visit us at Cat Chat! http://opcatchat.blogspot.com

    • 27/01/2011 3:01 pm

      Hi Caren & Cody,
      I’m sorry your message got stuck in the spam filter (I have no idea why), but I have now set it free!
      Thank you for your comments. I will visit you, I love finding/reading new blogs.

Leave a Reply

