Skip to content

The Escape Tree: Super Spock

10/02/2011

Both Spock and Zé have become very curious about the outside world and have both recently discovered the window ledges. They love to spend some time sitting and watching the world. This makes me a little nervous as we live on the 1st floor and the drop from the window would be pretty long, but the boys seem so happy when they are on the ledge, so I let them sit there for a while when I am in the room.

This has now changed. The windows are no longer left invitingly open. This is why:

I turned my back for a minute and when I looked back Spock had gone! He wasn’t in the room and he hadn’t walked past me. I looked out of the window and there he was, sniffing around a bush on the ground below the window!

From his point of view I imagine the incident went something like this:

spock_escape cartoon

I hurtled through the front door, down the stairs, around the side of the building to find him. I was sure that he would bolt when I got close. After all, he was FREE! But when I got to him he just gave me his little ‘hello’ chirrup and let me pick him up. I carried him back inside with no struggling, so maybe he was a little dazed by his big adventure.

The windows are now kept nearly fully closed. It’s summer here and I’m baking hot but Spock’s escape tree incident has called for drastic measures.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. 11/02/2011 4:18 am

    Spock!! Even if you are super you gotta be careful my friend!!

    • 11/02/2011 1:53 pm

      But the outside world is sooooooo exciting! Interesting noises, new smells…I just wanted to have a little look around. But I’m not allowed to go on the ledge now, not until the safety nets are put on anyway (no joke, we are getting child nets fitted ASAP!).

  2. 11/02/2011 12:35 pm

    That would SCARE me to death!! Spock you have to be more careful! I bet your mommy was worried!!

    (PS I found your blog through a blog, hope it’s ok if I stay and look around?)

    • 11/02/2011 2:06 pm

      I was so worried. When I looked out of the window I was so afraid of what I’d see, but he was completely fine, thank goodness.
      You’re more than welcome to have a look through my blog. I’ve just paid a visit to you too. I love your ideas for the new kitten’s name.

  3. 11/02/2011 12:36 pm

    I’m in love with this cartoon. I’m certain that this is exactly what the situation seemed like Spock.

    • 11/02/2011 2:18 pm

      Thank you, I enjoyed making this one.
      Spock loves to be daring (I think it all started with the bathroom window game). I’m sure he now thinks he’s got ‘powers’.

  4. 07/06/2011 4:36 pm

    God! I can only imagine the horror turning round and no Spock = Wheee out he went!
    I too would have shot down that stairs.
    My two cats have always been house cats until about a year ago when I moved house, they are now allowed out in to the garden under supervision of course!!
    Peaches loves it, she doesn’t go far, watches the birds and chews some grass, I keep a close eye on her, I feel good that I can enrich her life with new smells and places, Pepsi isn’t so interested and prefers indoors.
    Now of course they have to be flea treated, which they hate!!

    • 08/06/2011 12:26 pm

      These are my first indoor-only cats. I’ve always had free-roamers in the past (I’ve never lived in an apartment before). When we are finally able to upgrade to an actual house I will probably let them come and go as they please. Of course, it will depend on the area and the house, garden, local cats etc.

Trackbacks

  1. The Call of the Wild « A Life Bewhiskered

Leave a Reply

