Skip to content

Hey! What’s going on?

03/03/2011

Something’s changed here!

curious cat

Look at the size of this photo!

So, I was mooching through the WP forums a couple of days ago and I found an interesting thread – ‘Rate the above user’s blog’. Okey dokey, sounded fun. It’s always good to get some critical feedback from complete strangers who don’t mind being deadly honest. So I put myself on there…

7.5/10 – Ok, so not too bad a score, but I agreed with some of the reasons he gave for the deductions:

Cat’s aren’t my thing. -1′ Well ok, fair enough.
‘Too many small icons and pictures on the sidebar. -1’ Agreed 100%
‘No colour! Just white on black. But I guess that’s kinda ok, considering my blog is blue on blue, LOL. -0.5’ I agreed with this too. The white on black was very harsh.

 

So here it is! Ta…daaaaah!

  • A new theme! Even with this wide sidebar on the right, the main column is a lot more spacious. I can use bigger photos now (I’m not going to go back through the old posts and change them all…maybe just a couple of my favorite ones).
  • Still pretty monochromatic, but a little easier on the eyes.
  • New header – originally I was planning to have mostly cartoons with only a few photos, hence the cartoony header.
  • New sidebar – Still containing most of the links and icons/images as before, but I think they look more ‘settled’ in this layout. And my apologies to any readers who don’t have super-human eyesight, the text in the sidebar looks like it’s from a mouse’s typewriter! But, it does look nice, doesn’t it?

 

What do you all think? Good move/bad move?

 

Bye bye old-style blog. I’ll leave this little thumbnail here as a reminder. I really should have done a screen shot before I changed everything…but I didn’t.

tmbnail of old look

9 Comments leave one →
  1. 03/03/2011 12:48 pm

    I think it looks great!!! But…what the heck do I know? I liked it the old way too! 🙂

  2. 03/03/2011 1:19 pm

    I ditto Ms. CatChat. I did like the old one too, but I like this one better. A cleaner feel to it. Less dramatic, perhaps, but more welcoming.

    • 03/03/2011 1:49 pm

      I did want to keep the black look but I couldn’t find a theme with a nice sidebar that worked with a dark background and also had a custom header function. 😦

      If I ever make the jump to self-hosted WP I’ll probably go back to something more dark and dramatic.

  3. 03/03/2011 4:41 pm

    Your blog looks great, looked good before to. But I like the new theme better. and awesome header image!

  4. Raywoman permalink
    03/03/2011 8:32 pm

    It looks awesome! Great job. I remember seeing it before and agree that this is definitely an improvement. ^_^ The first photo is SO CUTE by the way!

  5. 04/03/2011 12:37 am

    It looks great! But you know what. I adored the old one too! LOL

  6. 04/03/2011 2:17 am

    As long as we get to see lots of photos of you, we’re happy!!

  7. 13/06/2011 4:12 pm

    Really good changes you made. Clean and modern.

Leave a Reply

