Skip to content

A Trip back in Time

28/03/2011
tags: , , , ,

little kittens

 

Big eared kitten
I could fly with these things!

I have lots of photos from when the beasts were little that I have never posted, so I thought I’d put a few of them up today. You may wonder where their names came from. Well, I loved the name Zé. It’s short for José, but I like the abbreviation more, so he’s just Zé. But not really just Zé, his full name is Zé Yoda. Why? Check out those ears!

I think he bears a striking resemblance to Yoda, don’t you.

Another big eared kitten
I can pick up satellite TV!

And how about Spock. Or Chico Spock to give him his full name. Chico is another Brazilian nickname and it seemed to fit him so well, but the Spock part has stuck more so we rarely call him Chico. Again, the reason for naming him Spock should be clear!

I can’t say that it was by chance that we ended up with two big eared cats. I have a real soft spot for Siamese and Siamese cross breeds. It dates back to my childhood. I have an aunt who used to breed them – beautiful, graceful looking creatures – and the cats that my family had when I was growing up were both half-Siamese. So I find that I am drawn to cats who share some visual traits with that most beautiful of breeds. I thought that Zé might turn out to be a Siamese, after all he had the ears for it and he has coloured points on cream fur. But he’s become far too fluffy and his cry, though amusing, is not a full Siamese ‘wail’.

I hope you’ve enjoyed this little journey back in time. They really were a pair of bizarre looking creatures, weren’t they. Zé is now growing into his ears. They don’t look so freakishly big on him anymore, but it looks like Spock will always be a ‘wingnut’.

 

(Wingnut ear, a derogatory term for, or a person with, ears that stick out – just in case you didn’t know.)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 28/03/2011 6:06 pm

    Simply adorable. 🙂

  2. lifewith4cats permalink
    28/03/2011 8:19 pm

    They are certainly very beautifull babies. Love those ears.

  3. 28/03/2011 8:34 pm

    precious! I think all kittens bear a striking resemblance to Yoda 🙂

  4. lifewith4cats permalink
    28/03/2011 10:32 pm

    The funniest things is when you look at your cat now and see how big they are, then look at those old pics when they were so innocent and tiny. They hardly seem like the same kitties, huh.

  5. 28/03/2011 11:20 pm

    Hello everyone, thanks for your comments. Sorry, I’ve been distracted by other non-blog-related things this evening, but I’m here now.

    @4cats – You really don’t realise how much they’ve grown until you look at these old photos. They are so different, face shape, expressions, everything. I want to do some comparison photos – try to catch them on or next to some objects that were in the old photos to show how much they’ve grown.

    @caren – Yes, probably all kittens look like Yoda. I think that will have to be the title if I ever write a book – The New York Times Bestselling Novel ‘All Kittens Look Like Yoda’. 😀

  6. 02/04/2011 8:47 pm

    Love the ears. I had a dog once who had ears like that. Everyone said I should have them clipped. No Way! They were too cute, especially when the cartilage in one “broke” and it flopped.

    My personal taste in cats are the extrememly fluffy variety and male. Don’t know why, but me and males always bond. Cats, that is. 🙂 I had 5 new arrivals this week when our lovely (tiny) cat had kittens. Four gray/white varieties and one completely blonde one, which is kind of odd. I’ll have to post some pics.

    Very cute kitties!

    • 02/04/2011 10:46 pm

      Oh yes, you should post some pics of the little ones. I’ve never had a cat that’s had kittens. Are you planning to keep any of them?

      I bond well with male cats too. I only remember having one female cat who I really bonded with. She was the cat that my parents had when I was growing up. All of my really ‘good’ cats since her have been male.

      Thanks for visiting. 🙂

Leave a Reply

