Skip to content

Exciting Archaeological Discovery

06/04/2011

It’s been an exciting morning here in the Bewhiskered household. Earlier on I found Spock with his legs and nose pushed under the oven, obviously trying to rescue something. As the kitchen floor had recently been cleaned I wasn’t too hesitant about getting down on my hands and knees to have a look with him.

When I got down there and peeked under the oven I found not one toy…
Not two toys…
Not three even.

What I had actually uncovered was a veritable treasure trove of cat toys and shiny objects. It was the Sutton Hoo of lost cat toys!

 

cat treasure

 

The excitement started to build as both Spock and Zé realised the enormity of the find. They couldn’t wait to get their paws on this ‘stupendous collection of magnificent objects’*. After I had extracted the still usable toys, and thrown away all the rubbish and fluff, they were left with:

  • 8 shiny aluminium foil balls
  • Several bottle tops
  • A nail file (mine and missing for AGES!)
  • A clothes peg
  • Some plastic rings (those ones that you have to twist/break to first open a bottle of drink). Spock absolutely adores these plastic rings. They are his most favoured toy.

Of course, once the toys had been cleaned and then released to the beasts there ensued a frantic 30 minutes of joyous playing. But things here are calm and peaceful again now, both Spock and Zé are having a well deserved snooze.

 

Marcelo picked up one of the balls to throw for the cats then immediately dropped it and made an ‘Eeew’ sound.

“It’s wet!”

“Yes, I washed them.”

“Oh, ok. I thought it was all cat spit.”

Hehehehehe

 

(* Phrase from the Sutton Hoo website. Too good not to recycle here.)

10 Comments leave one →
  1. 06/04/2011 4:53 pm

    isn’t it amazing what wonders lurk under ovens, fridges, couches and chairs??? We could all open our own toy shops with our finds! 🙂

    • 07/04/2011 1:17 pm

      The best thing is when you find something of yours. Like my nail file. It’s my best one and I have been looking for it for ages.

  2. 06/04/2011 6:02 pm

    Haha Jackpot! A few months or so ago, we dogsat for a friend and Mia managed to find every single missing toy in our house. I would constantly see her batting at under furniture trying to get something and sure enough whenever I looked, there was a toy stuck under there. It is so funny how the objects can get pushed under and forgotten about for so long, and then one day someone just happens to find them.

    • 07/04/2011 1:20 pm

      She sounds like a very useful dog to have around. Have her people thought about hiring her out as a professional ‘object locator’? I’m sure she’d have no shortage of work.

  3. 07/04/2011 12:37 am

    I wonder what discoveries are going to burst forth on an unsuspecting and awestruck world, when (if) I ever clean out the vaccuum . . . .

    • 07/04/2011 1:23 pm

      I used to hate emptying the vacuum cleaner. Probably because I used it as a spider/cobweb remover most of the time, so there was always a danger of releasing angered arachnids when I opened it.

  4. 07/04/2011 12:15 pm

    Ah, yes. We recently had a similar scavenger hunt, except it was under the couch as opposed to the oven. I, too, found several “milk tabs” (what we call the plastic tabs pulled from beverages, mostly because it’s always from the milk), a few balled up candy wrappers, a lost catnip toy, and a few pen tops (another fave in our house.) Happiness abounds!

    • 07/04/2011 1:31 pm

      Ah, pen tops. Spock prefers to steal the whole pen. We have to keep them all hidden or else they end up under the fridge or oven, covered in fluff and bite marks.

      I don’t know why I get so excited when I uncover one of these hoards. I think I’m just too easily amused.

  5. lifewith4cats permalink
    07/04/2011 9:06 pm

    I predict in 4 more days, all the toys will be lost again. None of my guys like tinfoil balls. I cant figure it out, since all cats like tinfoil balls. oh well.

    • 07/04/2011 11:34 pm

      Half the loot has vanished again already!

Leave a Reply

