Skip to content

Roach Hunter: The Movie

16/04/2011

It’s here. The new Super Spock film Roach Hunter.

I apologise for the shaky camera work. Spock obviously wanted everyone to have a piece of the action and so he kept letting the horrible little thing run at me. I then, of course, had to keep running away. Most of the film looks like outtakes from the Blair Witch Project (minus the dripping nose, I’m happy to say!).

Anyway, I hope you enjoy it. I’ve gone for an action theme this time. If you haven’t seen my other films you can do so here:

Spock vs. Fly (in the style of a spy/stealth film)
Zé vs. Cushion (in the style of an old silent movie)

14 Comments leave one →
  1. 16/04/2011 2:09 pm

    OMG that roach has me totally creeped out!! I can barely look at it! Ewwwww they give me the heebie jeebies!!! lol

    This was sooo cute! Spock is sooo brave! OMG I love his fancy footwork! The sucker roach laying on it’s back kicking…EWWWWWWWW!!!!

  2. 16/04/2011 2:15 pm

    What we want to know is can you please mail us some of those cockroaches? A BIG jar, please! They look like so much fun…

  3. 16/04/2011 3:00 pm

    @caren gittleman – They’re horrible. So creepy they make my skin crawl! And they don’t die! It was still kicking when we managed to wrestle it from Spock and throw it out of the window. I had to wait for Marcelo to get home – there was no way I was going anywhere near it!

    @Katnip Lounge – I sincerely hope we do NOT get enough of them to fill even a small jar! You’re right though, Spock loves them. Zé, you probably noticed, is not so sure.

  4. 16/04/2011 3:02 pm

    Wow, it looked like Spock flipped it on its back on purpose. And was he…. aiming at you? Little Ze’ looks like such a sweetie in the background. Ill tell ya, you did a great job with this movie and the music is perfect. You were able to do it in a way that was not too terribly gross, even though its as big as a mouse. Great Job!!

    • 16/04/2011 3:30 pm

      I think it WAS aimed at me. He tried to bring it to me at one point, had it in his mouth and trotted straight at me! Of course, I ‘eeeeeeked’ and ran.
      It’s hard to make a cockroach film that isn’t gross. It’s why I didn’t use a lot of that close-up scene where the roach was lying on its back waving its legs around. *shudder*

  5. 16/04/2011 3:03 pm

    Wow. HUGE.

    Two things I specially liked.

    The “abandoned” sandals. Had a real air of sci-fi end of the world Last Days of Pompeii-type vibe. Where are the people? Eaten alive by Monster Loathsomes!

    The other was when Spock looked over at Ze (the philosopher-yogini), and then at the camera, as if to say: What am I supposed to do with this guy? He’s a waste of space!

    • 16/04/2011 3:40 pm

      I didn’t see the sandals in that way, thanks for pointing it out…*cough cough* I mean – Yes, I intentionally left shoes, paper scraps and bubble wrap on the floor, the film NEEDED it for the atmosphere, you see. I’m so pleased you picked up on that aspect. My clever set dressing was obviously a success.

      I love that look too, it’s so expressive. And when Zé did wander over to have a look, Spock grabbed the thing and ran away. Zé was left sitting there looking confused, a kind ‘that’s exactly why I don’t bother’ look on his face. But he stayed well back until the roach had been pretty much subdued by Spock.

  6. 16/04/2011 8:57 pm

    I loved this. Who needs toys when they can just play with roaches 😉 I loved the random camera pans to Zé who was just sitting and watching. Does he ever get involved in the hunts?

    • 16/04/2011 9:31 pm

      Not often. He mooches over to have a look every once in a while but usually backs away and lets Spock do the work. He doesn’t play a lot either, he’s a very calm animal.

  7. 17/04/2011 1:00 am

    I’m with Ze. I’m a calm watcher. That horrid bug made me cringe. EEEEEEuuuuuuuuuuuuuwww!

    • 17/04/2011 1:07 pm

      Me too, though not really calm. My husband laughed at how I was running about when I was filming, said I’d never make a professional cameraman if I couldn’t hold still. But it kept running at me!

  8. 17/04/2011 5:10 am

    Who needs expensive toys? Just breed ‘roaches.

    I think I’d have just been calling in the exterminators – there are few bugs I can’t stand, but ‘roaches are one of them.

    I need a shower now!

    • 17/04/2011 1:04 pm

      We get on average less than 1 a month. I used to bug spray them, but even when we take Spock to the other end of the apartment and close all the doors before spraying, he still reacts badly when we let him out again, blinking furiously and retching. So now we just let him deal with any nasties that get in. He definitely earns his cat food!

  9. Greenearth photographer permalink
    27/06/2011 7:47 pm

    My only comment is what I tell my kitties when they see something I don’t see: KILL THE BUG!
    Great movie. My cats spend most of their time sleeping and shedding and sitting on my work projects.

Leave a Reply

