Skip to content

Zen Master Zé: Yoga for Cats, Part 2

12/05/2011

cat yoga header

The long-awaited part 2. of

Zen Master Zé’s ‘Yoga for Cats’

course is finally here!

If you missed part 1. you can catch up here.

Zen Zé

In the last session Zé was trying to teach Spock some of the more basic positions of Cat Yoga. You may remember that Spock was finding some of the poses quite hard to copy. He has been practicing a lot and would now like to show you just how much he has improved.

On the left here we can see Zé demonstrating the correct way to stretch before beginning.

Remember, it’s important to stretch well before you attempt any of the following yoga positions as pulled muscles can be extremely painful. So, when you are all ready we will begin.

The Floating Mermaid

We start with one of the classics. This is the ‘Floating Mermaid’. You may remember this one from Zé’s introductory course. As you can see, it’s still popular and is a good position to start with. Spock has very much perfected this one now.

The Frolicking Filly

This is a nice and an easy one. Hold your head high, tail up, rear leg raised…and smile. This position is meant to be fun, so try to look like you’re frolicking!

Spock has actually perfected this one and is now much better than the master, Zé.

The Blind Zombie

And here’s another classic from the introductory lessons. The ‘Blind Zombie’, demonstrated here by Spock.

The Set Square

A new position in Cat Yoga! Originally born from Spock’s failed attempt at the ‘Floating Mermaid’ in the introduction course. Zé, being a master, immediately saw the usefulness of this accidental pose. He has now dubbed it the ‘Set Square’ and lists amongst its health benefits: improved posture, better flexibility and increased powers of concentration. The aim here is to produce as many perfect right angles as possible. Spock has attempted a 5 point ‘Set Square’ here (back feet, front arms and neck). A better positioned tail may have given him a 6 point ‘Set Square’.

Zé has interpreted this pose slightly differently. His position is more fluid than Spock’s. Here he has attempted a 6 point, but sadly, due to a misplaced tail he has not managed to beat Spock’s own 5 point ‘Set Square’ (note the 4 bent feet and angle of neck).

And now,

Spock is overjoyed to present to you,

The Full Circle COMBINED with The Paw of Power

Look on in awe. This is a combination not frequently seen. It takes much more effort than you’d imagine to keep that paw upright and arrow-straight. The fact that he held this pose for well over 10 minutes should impress anyone and everyone. So, a round of applause if you please.

I hope you’ve enjoyed this update on Spock’s efforts. As you can see, practice really does make perfect.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. Helen Kitching permalink
    12/05/2011 3:17 pm

    Thank you Ellie- a lovely chuckle after a hard day’s work (my work that is -not theirs)!

    • 12/05/2011 3:30 pm

      Hello 🙂
      I’m pleased to be of service!

  2. 12/05/2011 4:14 pm

    Haha, the blind zombie made me laugh! And Spock’s floating mermaid is quite impressive, really elegant!

    • 12/05/2011 10:12 pm

      It’s not too often that Spock can be described as elegant. This is definitely a moment to remember.

  3. 12/05/2011 7:34 pm

    STANDING OVATION.

    STILL CLAPPING.

    STILL.

    ENCORE! ENCORE! ENCORE!

    STAMP! WHISTLE! SCREAM ON THE VUVUZELAS! PANDEMONIUM!

    We waited TOO long for this. We are hyperventilating.

    Did you submit Spockie’s truly historic last accomplishment as a [candidate] [I say that in deference to other contestants who may be reading this] in the belly contest? Did you? Did you?

    If not, TRAGIC. An opportunity lost.

    We’re still in the stadium. We shall not leave. You know how these footie freaks can get when thwarted. Property-damage occurs.

    • 12/05/2011 10:22 pm

      Thank you, thank you. We merit vuvuzelas? Wow, oh, I feel that I should make some kind of speach now. I was actually thinking of you when I hit the ‘publish’ button. I hoped you’d enjoy this.

      I didn’t submit any photos for the belly competition, I’m afraid. I tried to take some that day specifically to enter into the contest…and the little monsters refused to show their bellies all day. So I took it as a sign that the contest just wasn’t to be (for us anyway).

  4. 12/05/2011 7:38 pm

    I just can’t leave this alone. Eleanor, are you familiar with a calendar supposedly showing cats doing yoga poses? It’s on sale in these parts. It is LAME compared to your guys, because I believe it’s bogus or photoshopped or some such rubbish. Would you consider approaching whoever produced this cheesy thing, and suggest to them that next year’s (or whenever) should feature your guys and your guys only?

    Anything I can do to help — like sending you the actual cheesy one, or at least copying the address for you — let me know. yayfay AT yahoo DOT com

    • 12/05/2011 10:43 pm

      I don’t know that specific calendar but I was really disappointed with the image results when I put ‘cat yoga’ into Google. Most of them are fake, cleverly done, but not as funny as the positions real cats get themselves into (in my opinion, anyway). Thank you for the vote of confidence, I’d love to have my guys in a calendar. I’ll keep taking photos of them to try and build up the yoga portfolio a bit more.

      Is the calendar something like this? This kind of computer generated image.

    • 12/05/2011 11:06 pm

      Eleanor, nothing’s showing in your reply, as far as any computer-generated image — let me hop over to GOODSEARCH (not Google!) and see what comes up, and come back here.

      Here you go. The last one — of the tuxie — is a typical outrage.

      http://www.odditycentral.com/pics/cats-can-do-yoga-too.html

    • 12/05/2011 11:24 pm

      Sorry. I’d put a link in the word ‘here’ but it doesn’t really show up. I think I need to re-think this dark green link colour I chose. It’s not easy to see where the links are hiding in amongst the black writing.

      But, yes, they are the same kind of thing that I found online when I tried to look for other people showcasing cat yoga. There are a few funny ones of real cats but not as many as I thought there would be.

      [Ok, the green link colour is now a little lighter]

  5. 12/05/2011 9:40 pm

    Blind Zombie!!!! I’m a zombie afficianado and Spock has that one NAILED!

    • 12/05/2011 10:48 pm

      He says, ‘thank you’ (he’s sitting here looking very smug!).

  6. 12/05/2011 10:00 pm

    I liked them all but it was The Full Circle COMBINED with The Paw of Power that made me laugh the most. 🙂

    • 12/05/2011 10:58 pm

      It’s my favorite, too. I had to save the best for last.

  7. 13/05/2011 1:07 pm

    *Swoon* So much tummy floof, I can hardly stand it!!! 🙂 Tummy rubbins from me for both kitties!

    • 14/05/2011 10:40 am

      There’s nothing quite so inviting as a cat belly. It is SO hard not to dive in for a tummy tickle instead of going for the camera when I find them like this.

  8. 13/05/2011 3:10 pm

    These guys are true masters! Too cute!

    • 14/05/2011 10:48 am

      They are indeeed. Masters of cat yoga (and general relaxation!).

  9. lifewith4cats permalink
    14/05/2011 12:23 am

    Im still a fan of the floating mermaid. I cant beleive Spock is squishing his tail in it. Maybe he has reached another level of conciousness, so his tail does not exist?

    • 14/05/2011 10:51 am

      It doesn’t look comfortable at all, does it. But he stayed like that for ages so it can’t be as awkward as it looks. Or he is so good now that he can overcome such matters.

Leave a Reply

