Skip to content

Modern Living

27/05/2011

I decided to give the kitchen a darn good clean last week. I emptied the fridge-freezer to let it defrost, took the shelves out to clean properly and removed the vegetable drawer from the bottom. The veggie drawer is too bulky to clean in the sink so I put it to one side to clean in the shower later on.

I should have guessed what would happen. If you remember how much Zé and Spock like the fridge you could probably guess too.

When I went back to the veg drawer I found this:

Spock in vegetable drawer

“I like this cat bed. It’s got a very modern feel. I get lots of light through this fantastic wall-to-wall window.”

veg tray cats 2

“Yes, it looks very spacious and comfy in there.”

“It is, but there’s not much privacy!”

Ze in veggie drawer

“I see what you mean. There’s lots of head room though.”

29 Comments leave one →
  1. 27/05/2011 6:08 pm

    TOO FUNNY! Were you ever able to put the drawer back or is it a permanent kitty bed? It’s quite BauHaus…

    • 27/05/2011 6:30 pm

      Sadly (for them), I did put it back. I’d love to find another one somewhere to give to them – maybe I could find one in a junk shop. It’s a lot smarter looking than a lot of the cat boxes/condos I’ve seen for sale.

  2. 27/05/2011 6:17 pm

    oh my that is the cutest thing ever!!!!

    That is some tasty kitty stuff in your fridge! lol

    • 27/05/2011 6:33 pm

      Remember to always keep your cats in the vegetable drawer – that way they stay fresh and crispy for longer!

  3. 28/05/2011 2:08 am

    Omg. haha. Too cute. You must have your camera at the ready at every moment. Cute photos.

    • 28/05/2011 9:24 am

      Thank you. Yes, my camera is always close by – one of the benefits of living in a little apartment. 🙂

  4. lifewith4cats permalink
    28/05/2011 2:38 am

    These are awesome. I love your picture posts.

  5. 28/05/2011 9:10 am

    My problem is, the government says I must eat 5 items a day from the fruit-&-veg food-group. I feel exhausted about that. I got the bok choi down, but when I went after the raw swiss chard the other day, Bean said no. I think she said something about what was it? oxalic acid? So if Bean can’t store stuff in the veg compartment any more, because it’s now my Bauhaus condo — Wait a sec. Do we even have veg compartment, in that pity-ful little cold-box thingy we have around here? No! I just checked! Now I’m really feeling deprived. Better go take a bite of Bean. Is she in the vegetable food-group? She tastes more like, um, well, wildebeest. –Bugs

    Looks like you’ve given Bugs an idea about our next post. Sigh. –Bean

    • 28/05/2011 9:48 am

      Ah! Looking forward to reading your next post, Bugs. That bok choi you had looked very tasty. Unfortunately, the condo has now been returned to its rightful place in the fridge. Every time the door is opened we do try to get back in it though. Sometimes we even manage to steal something to play with. Spring onion tails make great toys, did you know?

    • 29/05/2011 9:08 am

      No! Yet another thing Bean refuses to provide Me with.

  6. 28/05/2011 10:34 am

    Oh, I like the modern living quarters – very cool!

    Hugs
    Dee
    xx

    • 29/05/2011 2:29 pm

      It makes a smart cat bed doesn’t it. I’d like to find something like this for them to play in. They can’t keep this one though – I need it for my veggies.

  7. 30/05/2011 10:15 pm

    I stumbled across your blog and I’m so glad I did! I have cat envy now. Thank you for sharing these pictures. They are so adorable and seeing adorable kitty pictures always brightens my day. 🙂

    • 31/05/2011 12:03 pm

      Thank you. They do the same for me – it’s hard not to smile at these little guys.

  8. 31/05/2011 10:10 am

    can i gets this bed from Cat-Kea?

  9. 31/05/2011 1:55 pm

    That first picture is so my Nix… x

  10. 31/05/2011 1:59 pm

    The spit of him lol… How can I send you a picture?

    • 31/05/2011 2:35 pm

      I sent you an email. I’d love to see a picture 🙂

  11. 31/05/2011 3:41 pm

    This is absolutely amazing! These cats are hilarious, I love how it seems like they actually took turns!

    • 31/05/2011 4:28 pm

      They did in a way – Spock tried to get back in after Zé’d had his turn, but at that point I decided I’d better rescue it.

  12. 07/06/2011 3:45 pm

    LOL your cats are hilarious

  13. 08/06/2011 12:52 am

    My mom’s cat Tom has a crisper drawer for a bed outside. He loves it. She put a rug in there and he lays in it up on the deck. He has much nicer beds inside but prefers his “crisper”.

    • 08/06/2011 12:06 pm

      Yey! A real cat bed made from one! So this goes beyond the strangeness of Spock and Zé.

  14. 15/06/2011 3:30 pm

    My cats will make a bed out of almost anything. Boxes, bags, piles of paper, shelves, you name it. It’s a funny thing that they do, isn’t it?

    • 16/06/2011 9:41 am

      Oh yes, they’re happy with anything that wasn’t purchased to be an actual cat bed!

  15. 18/07/2011 2:48 pm

    Love your blog. I have two cats; Harper and Fluffy, but I don’t know if they’re as cute as yours. Tomorrow I’m posting a humorous observation of cats on my blog. You may want to check it out.

    • 18/07/2011 3:00 pm

      Thank you, I will. And I’m sure your cats are just as cute as my two are.

Leave a Reply

