Skip to content

Nearly Back to Normal

07/06/2011
tags: , ,

I will write a full update soon. Things are much better today. The cats are both nappy-less and seem much happier (not surprisingly). We still might need to put cone collars on them when we put the cream on their wounds – they lick it off straight away.

Here is a picture of Zé this morning.

ze hello

Pretty much back to normal…and pretty in general!

Hello to all the Cat of the Day visitors. Thank you so much for coming to visit us.

36 Comments leave one →
  1. Leslie permalink
    07/06/2011 9:07 am

    What beautiful kitties. Loved them on catoftheday 🙂

  2. Leslie permalink
    07/06/2011 9:07 am

    I love Spock and Ze!!!!

  3. Ms Brown permalink
    07/06/2011 10:06 am

    Eleanor, I enjoyed the time I spent on your blog this morning. “CotD” is where I visit first daily, usually with a cat on my lap. I would like to share with other cat lovers the drama at my house today: I agreed yesterday to foster a Persian for two weeks, as long as she created no mayhem in my ‘pride’ of 8 alleyrabbits. Everybody is an ‘it’ so there’s no problem there, and most of mine are in-out cats, so as soon as ‘Holly’ knows where she is I will let her out too. Last night our youngest male had eyes as big as a hippie on hallucinogens, and his sister was skittish too. There were no hisses (well, few anyway), and this morning the newbie and the brother and sister are all just sitting near each other. No nose-sniffing, just cat-like slow acceptance! Ahhh, that’s good. But next the newbie must meet “Madam Queen”; -Fancy who looks like Ze! Fancy is 10 and all defer to her wishes, hisses and swats. After that she must be accepted by Buddy, Tasha, Hollywood, Kit and even Fritz the Red! Life as a catservant is never boring! Thanks for letting me share.

    • 07/06/2011 10:41 am

      Boring, no – cats have a way of keeping their servants (us!) on our toes. Thank you for sharing your story. It’s strange how some cats accept each other with no problems while others make such a hissy-fuss when confronted with a stranger. I’m glad it’s going ok for her so far. It must be daunting for her, being in a new place and meeting so many new faces. Good luck, I hope it continues to go well for you, her and the rest of your pride.

  4. 07/06/2011 10:58 am

    OMG! Ze is the bomb. He’s playboy kitty! Love him.

    • 07/06/2011 12:44 pm

      Hahaha, yes! And he looks like he’s saying “How you doin’?” (Joey Tribbiani style)

  5. Morela I live near Chester in England permalink
    07/06/2011 1:06 pm

    Eleanor
    I have had cats for 40 years
    Have never seen them in nappies before
    You bought great joy to me to hear and see your lovely cats
    I have a sealpoint siamese which iadpoted 4 years ago best wishes mel

    • 07/06/2011 2:16 pm

      Hello. I’d seen pictures of cats in nappies, but never thought I’d have to try to put mine into them – it’s hard work and they really don’t enjoy it! I adore siamese cats.
      I love their voices and they have such great personalities.

  6. Louise permalink
    07/06/2011 2:19 pm

    Saw your kitties on Cat of the Day. They are gorgeous !!! I think all cats are works of art. One of my cats was on Cat of the Day (February 21, 2007) Sadly she passed away in April 2008. I will be sure to check your blog often to see more beautiful photos of Ze and Spock and to read of their antics, as all cats have their silly moments.
    Have a great day !!

    • 07/06/2011 2:42 pm

      She was LadyBug? She looks so sweet on the Cat of the Day photo, I’m sorry she’s no longer with you.
      I’d love you to come back again – Zé and Spock have no shortage of silly moments and I do my best to catch as many on camera as possible (though sometimes I’m laughing so much that the pictures are just a blur!)

    • Louise permalink
      08/06/2011 3:09 pm

      I always wanted a calico and I knew that I would name her LadyBug. She came into my life at a difficult time and was very special to me. As she got older I had many nicknames for her. Babyboo or Boo were favorites. She was definitely a princess and I miss her very much. I need to sit down and write something about my other two cats Max and Liam for Cat of the Day. I would also like to write something about all the many fantastic cats I have had in my life.

      Give Ze and Spock a cuddle for me.
      Have a great day !!

    • 09/06/2011 2:24 pm

      I love the name LadyBug. My cats always end up with lots of nick-names. In fact, my two have several each already. The most used are ‘Curious George’ for Spock and ‘(Mr) Mouse’ for Zé.

      If you have lots of stories about LadyBug and all the other cats you’ve known it might be nice to start a blog! 😉 I know that some people are afraid of the time commitment, but there is nothing to say that you have to post/update it every day or even every week.

  7. 07/06/2011 3:03 pm

    13 happy cheers from the Lounge Cats, no more nappies!

    • 07/06/2011 3:50 pm

      Yey! We’re cheering here too, believe me! 😀

  8. 07/06/2011 3:23 pm

    Thanks for the lovely welcome. Saw your beautiful cats on Cat of the Day. They are adorable! Will be checking out the rest of your blog too. It looks like a great site. Have two cats of my own – Gypsy and Dusty – very entertaining characters. There’s nothing better than cats. Cheers!

  9. Astrid permalink
    07/06/2011 3:31 pm

    Hello!!
    I’m a loyal member of Pet Talk/Cat of the Day from Guatemala City, Guatemala and stopped to say Hi, Spock and Ze are both such handsome boys and I can see they’re a great company and an endless source of fun:)
    It’s so nice to meet you, big hugs from me and purrs from my kitty girl Sophie.

    • 07/06/2011 3:58 pm

      Hi. They are great company – Spock is so talkative, it’s nice to always have someone in the house to chat to 🙂

  10. 07/06/2011 3:36 pm

    Hi Eleanor
    I came via Cat of The Day. Your cats re gorgeous, I too have two fur babies Peaches and Pepsi.
    I’m off to read some more posts.

  11. 07/06/2011 4:53 pm

    Eleanor your blog and photography is great, here are a couple of my fav kitty blogs, thought you might like to stop by..
    http://www.catofninetales.com/
    http://www.theittybittykittycommittee.com/

    • 07/06/2011 5:28 pm

      Thank you so much. I’ll have a look at those when I have a few minutes spare.

  12. 07/06/2011 10:22 pm

    Yay! The lansome lads are recovering quickly and looking fine too. 🙂

    • 08/06/2011 10:20 am

      Thank goodness cats have this ability to recover so quickly. They seem to be in fine fettle again.

  13. belle permalink
    08/06/2011 12:40 am

    Your boys are beautiful. They look so sweet together. I love how they are almost reverse images of each other.

    • 08/06/2011 10:28 am

      Yes, now that Zé’s colouring has really come out they do. At first Zé hardly had any body marking but now he has lovely subtle-toned spots all over his body. One light, one dark…could have called them Luke and Anakin (though that’s probably not very original!).

  14. joltster permalink
    08/06/2011 3:27 am

    Hi:
    I saw Ze and Spock on COTD yesterday. They really are gorgeous kitties.It was also the first time that I saw cats in diapers- I don’t envy you the task you had with changing them.I think that Ze may be part Siamese- at least lynxpoint Siamese. One of my cats is a lynxpoint Siamese mix and her features and markings are somewhat similar to Ze’s.

    • 08/06/2011 10:37 am

      Hi, thanks for visiting. Oh, it truly was an unenviable task! I have had cats all my life and have seen (and cleaned up) enough little ‘accidents’, so, for me, cleaning up was no issue. The thing that was so hard was getting the bl**dy things onto them. They don’t lie happily on their back and wait for you to position and stick the tabs town – it’s a desperate battle from beginning to end!

  15. lifewith4cats permalink
    08/06/2011 8:55 am

    Ze looks very regal here. It will be our little secret (the nappy days) No girl cat would ever believe him anyway. Hes too dignified a looker. 🙂

    • 08/06/2011 10:42 am

      Spock tried to jump up to the window while he still had his on (of course we didn’t let him – he couldn’t even walk in a straight line!) and my husband was saying to him, “Do you really want the neighours to see you? They’ll all mock you!”. I laughed…Spock just looked indignant. Hahahaha

  16. 08/06/2011 9:52 am

    Wow look at this COTD tidal wave! Struggling to keep my head above water, I say: WHOOTS to you!

    And what a relief re: boys. May the goofiness return in full force.

    • 08/06/2011 10:49 am

      I think our COTD came at just the right time. Tidal wave is right! 😀 I was so busy and distracted yesterday answering all these wonderful messages and emails (I am still catching up – decided to start on this page and work backwards to see who I missed). It was a real boost of ‘happy’ and, coming when it did (after the beasts had pretty much returned to normal), I was able to enjoy it.

  17. 09/06/2011 3:27 am

    A trick to use if they lick the ointment off – after putting some on, put some butter on their front paw. They will probably go after thant first, possibly even forgetting about the stuff in back. Worst case you gave it some time to work.

    • 09/06/2011 2:12 pm

      We’ve been getting sneaky these last few days. We now wait until they are asleep…really asleep…and then I very, very gently dab the ointment on. That way it stays on until they finally wake up and notice. Sometimes they don’t even realise straight away so it stays on for a bit longer still.

  18. 15/06/2011 1:32 pm

    Such an elegant boy!
    I just read the previous post (catching up on my subscriptions as I have been away for a week) and I was really worried about that nappy thing. We never had to do that to our cats (all male and neutered too) and I am so glad that they are recovering quite well.

    • 16/06/2011 9:46 am

      Thank you. They are completely back to normal now. That weekend was terrible for all of us but they’ve recovered well.

Leave a Reply

