Skip to content

The One with the Waggly Tail

30/06/2011

Hot on the heels of Anita’s visit to a pet shop (love those kitten photos!), I found myself in a similar situation. My husband and I went for a bike ride yesterday and happened to pass our local pet shop (it was a state holiday of sorts, but some shops were still open). As we got close Marcelo said that I HAD to see the two kittens that they have at the moment, so we cycled over to look in the window.

Now, I have to say that I don’t agree with animals being sold in shops. Small animals are ok (mice, hamsters, fish etc), but seeing kittens, puppies and birds caged up in shops really upsets me. But I did go over to look anyway.

The kittens were hilarious, butt-ugly, squashed-faced, with eyes set too wide apart, but still adorable of course. I assume they are some type of persian-like breed. I’m not a fan – I like my cats to have proper muzzles.

Anyway, the reason for this post is what happened next.

There was a fluffy, puffy, snow-white ball of fur in with the kittens. As I was watching the ‘ugly sisters’ this puff-ball turned around and we made eye contact…

…and I fell in love. Completely in love…

With a dog!

Yes, you read that right, a dog!

She went crazy when she saw we were lingering. She jumped up, trying to get to the window. She was yapping and yapping and it wasn’t a bad yap (I don’t have patience for noisy dogs), she sounded lovely. Her face was the sweetest doggy face I’ve ever seen and she looked like she had a wonderful character.

Well, of course the shop owner whipped her out of the cage smartish when he could see our temptation and soon I was engaged in my very first puppy snuggle. I’ve NEVER cuddled a puppy before. She was so soft, so beautiful…

But…

Here’s the big ‘BUT’

She’ll get BIG, we live in a small apartment and she costs the same as a month’s rent!

So I handed her back over and we cycled away. The problem now is, I’ve become quite obsessed. I can’t get that furry little face out of my mind. I really hope she gets a good home because I think she’ll be a wonderful dog.

It’s not a happy ending, but it’s not all doom and gloom either. When we have a house we WILL have a dog. Maybe one like her? Who knows?

If you were wondering, she’s a one month old Swiss Shepherd. Google them, you’ll get cuteness poisoning, but it’s worth it!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Trudy permalink
    30/06/2011 10:39 pm

    I Googled, I saw, I fell in love too…..with the baby. But they do get really big, don’t they??

    • 01/07/2011 8:30 am

      Unfortunately yes. Too big for this little apartment anyway.

  2. lifewith4cats permalink
    30/06/2011 11:18 pm

    You guys are all temptying yourselves. I cant dare go look at live puppies, kities, or birdies. Ill want them all so badly. Me too! …about the wait till I have a house part. 🙂

    I never new Swiss Shepherd was a breed. Wow! Dashing.

    • 01/07/2011 8:32 am

      Beautiful, aren’t they! I’ve always really liked German Shepherds. I didn’t realise that the white ones were a actual breed.

      You’re right – it’s safest not to even go near a pet shop – temptation is never far away!

  3. 01/07/2011 12:15 am

    I’m hyperventilating. I found a picture of a puppy that looked just like a little polar-bear. I can’t imagine how you resisted — but I am glad you did, because these babies do grow big. But honestly. Complete cuteness toxic shock. (Thank you so much for the shout-out, too. A thrill!)

    • 01/07/2011 8:52 am

      They do look like little polar bears! Yes! Thank you, you’ve answered my question. That’s why I fell for her so quickly. I used to pin pictures of baby polars around my desk (when I had an office job) to keep my spirits up and to give me something nice/positive/non-sales-related to look at. It was very, very hard to resist her!

  4. 01/07/2011 8:50 am

    A CONVERT a convert! Yippee!!!!

    • 01/07/2011 1:55 pm

      I’m still quite particular about what kind I’d want, but yes, I think I’ve been converted (Marcelo is happy – he’s wanted a dog for ages).

  5. 01/07/2011 1:02 pm

    Ah, I’d love a dog too…I can see why this one was such a hit, they are CUTE!

  6. Sharon permalink
    02/07/2011 12:53 am

    We’re in a condo apartment too. This week, we agreed to mind my son’s basset hound, Basil, for a few days. I think Felix and Oscar want to have me committed. Although Basil is a big, lazy love bug with sad droopy eyes and long velvet ears, a dog is for sure a handful in an apartment with 2 cats! Wonder what Spock & Ze would think of a canine addition?

    • 02/07/2011 12:03 pm

      Another reason we’d need to be in a house – more space for the cats to escape if they don’t want to be on the floor with a crazy puppy.

  7. 02/07/2011 12:12 pm

    To be honest I like them more when they’re big! They look so elegant!

    • 02/07/2011 12:53 pm

      They do look beautiful when they’re big – very handsome looking animals. I’m sure one of these would be the dog for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

