Skip to content

A Sock Monkey? Not Quite…

06/07/2011

I blame the sleep deprivation. I only got about 5 hours shut-eye last night and that’s nowhere near enough for me. So I really can’t be held accountable for anything that I do today. On that note I present to you…

Ta da da da da da da daaaaaaaaaa…Pants Mouse!

 

cat toy mouse

It must be the sleep deprivation. I mean, just look at that thing. What else would have possessed me to make it? For a while there I was convinced that the thing my cats needed more than anything in the world was a mouse toy made from a pair of old pants. And I mean ‘pants’ in the British sense. Yes, this was formerly an old pair of big, pink, cotton granny knickers. You know the sort. They’re the ones that live at the back of your underwear drawer and only ever see the light of day when you have some kind of nothing’s-clean laundry emergency.

You see, I noticed this morning (pre dawn!) that Spock wasn’t interested in food or cuddles. I think he is waking us up to play. He has Zé of course, but play sessions between the two of them are usually pretty short. Zé just doesn’t have the energy levels (nor attention span) to keep up with Spock’s games. So I think this desire to make a mouse toy stemmed from that observation, but in my half awake zombiness I guess I didn’t really think it through.

Here she is again:

a cat mouse or a pig maybe

I’d like to have given her  face but I don’t have any embroidery thread. You can see, though, that I did try to make her at least a little presentable. Check out her snazzy collar and bow. Made from knicker elastic. Now that’s stylish! She’s also stuffed with pants – what bits I didn’t use on the outside went inside as padding – see, nothing is wasted in this house.

And here she is with the demon:

spock and mouse

Ok, so her bottom is a little wrinkly where I sewed her up at the end, but come on! How much notice will the cats take of my hand sewing work? (By the way I CAN sew, but not this morning apparently)

I’ve just noticed that she looks more like a pig than a mouse. So maybe she’s a pig-mouse hybrid…that could happen, right?

15 Comments leave one →
  1. 06/07/2011 12:43 pm

    you know what? I think this is the cutest thing ever!!! How clever you are! I couldn’t make this if I slept from now til when the cows come home!

    I also had only about 5 hrs of sleep last night and am soooo tired!

    Wish I were as creative as you!

    This is just too adorable!

    • 06/07/2011 1:41 pm

      Thank you so much. I’m looking on it more kindly now as both cats seem quite impressed. They are actually playing with it!

  2. Sharon permalink
    06/07/2011 12:59 pm

    When I read only as far as “Pants Mouse” (couldn’t see the picture yet) I thought I might see a mouse with diapers indicating a severe case of sleep deprivation! Although I was intrigued to see a mouse in Pampers, I’m gald it’s simply a well crafted feline amusement. Maybe you could sell them on your site (not serious).

  3. Sharon permalink
    06/07/2011 1:00 pm

    Sorry, glad not gald!

    • 06/07/2011 1:45 pm

      Give me a couple more days and who knows what might happen. Mice in diapers may not be completely out of the question.

      If I sold these mice what would my heading be? ‘Click here to purchase my pants!’ 😀

  4. 06/07/2011 1:58 pm

    I think she’s adorable. Is that wrong of me? Of course, I have little pink piggies on my mind at the moment. How did you know that? Get out of my mind! Check over at our place soon. Pink pigs. Honest. I’ve already got the pictures downloaded. Sleep well now.

    • 06/07/2011 2:06 pm

      Awww, thank you. It seems that my mouse-pig has been more of a sucess that I’d initially thought. I’ll come to have a look when you have your pigs ready. What is it they say about great minds?
      I’m going to try for an early night tonight. Hopefully I can recover a bit.

  5. Sharon permalink
    06/07/2011 2:00 pm

    Love it! You’d certainly get a lot of hits but probably not of the desirable type!

    • 06/07/2011 6:35 pm

      True. I’m imagining some creepy stalker types. They’d probably be very disapointed when they realised what they’d clicked on.

  6. Jo Pfeffer permalink
    06/07/2011 8:38 pm

    LOL!!! I think that the pink mouse is a hoot! I think you ought to market the pink mouse – if you can find any more of those old undies. *grin*

    I’m very impressed with your skills with a needle. I was doing good to get my stripes sewed on straight when I was on active duty.

    Not too sure my cats would play with the mousie, but my little Mini-Doxie/Yorkie mix would love it! He’ll carry anything around in his mouth, and harasses me unmercifully to throw it for him, until I finally get fed up and hide his sock in a drawer.

    Ah, the foibles of having lovely little critters in our lives!!! 🙂

    • 06/07/2011 9:58 pm

      Thank you. It’s really tickled me that people like her!

      It’s too cumbersome for the cats to bat it about on the floor (I made it much too big) but they are enjoying chewing and pulling its tail and the body of the mouse is great for them to get a good hold on. Also, the fabric of the mouse is perfect for their claws to hook into – they can pick it up with just a claw.

      I actually did think about making cat toys to sell in the local pet shop (not out of pants of course) as the cat toys I’ve seen locally are all pretty rubbish. They look more like small dog toys and are not really exciting or suitable for cats. I have a few ideas I’d like to play with…so watch this space!

  7. lifewith4cats permalink
    07/07/2011 3:41 pm

    Thats wonderfull! When I read the title I thought it was going to be Spock playing in the sock drawer, but this is neat! The close up shot reminds me of the pig from charletts web. Or piglet from winnie the pooh. So I think what happened was a little pig fell into a hole in the baseboard. MIce found him and raised him as one of there own. So he thinks he is a mouse.

    Thats a very creative idea. I like it!

    • 11/07/2011 10:58 am

      Thank you for your help – I knew there had to be an explaination for the pig resemblance! 🙂

  8. 19/07/2011 6:54 pm

    Kitty seems to approve!

    • 20/07/2011 10:15 pm

      Yes, they like to drag it around by the tail. 🙂

Leave a Reply

