Skip to content

Zé e Sua Pequeno Cérebro

11/07/2011

(Zé and His Little Brain)

I’m very excited, I’ve just submitted an entry for a film festival!

The films had to be between 30 seconds and 3 minutes long and could be filmed with anything from a mobile phone to a proper camcorder (so long as it was digital). There was no theme to stick to so I made a film about…guess who?

Synopsis (this is a translation of what I put on the entry form):

A film within a film: Zé (beautiful but dumb) finally gets his 15 minutes of fame. He got the starring role in a low-budget silent movie and tonight is its first airing on TV.

The film starts with Spock (his brother) and me (the human) channel surfing while we wait for Zé’s big moment. Soon it’s time for the feature presentation ‘Zé e Sua Pequeno Cérebro/Zé and His Little Brain’.

So grab some popcorn, pull up a chair and enjoy!

And here it is:

(It’s all in Portuguese, but I’ve put a translation on here under the film.)

Translated Transcript

The Introduction:

  • Me: Hey, Spock!
  • Spock: Yep!
  • Me: Look at this…
  • Me: Zé is on TV.
  • Spock: On TV!?
  • Spock: Zé come quick. You’re on TV!
  • Zé: Me? On TV?

The Film:

  • What was that?
  • What was I doing?
  • I know I was doing Something…
  • Oh yes, I remember!
  • Oh, it’s a shoe!
  • Wait…what was I doing?
10 Comments leave one →
  1. 11/07/2011 2:37 pm

    Ahahaha! Soo cool! Good luck with that competition! I hope you win!

    • 11/07/2011 9:10 pm

      Thank you. I haven’t seen any of the other entries yet so I have no idea how my film compares.

  2. 11/07/2011 4:18 pm

    Too cute! Good luck, we of course think you should win!

  3. lifewith4cats permalink
    12/07/2011 6:10 pm

    BRAVO!! I like how the end , ends just like a bugs bunny cartoon with the circle thing. 🙂

    • 13/07/2011 8:47 am

      Yes, I wanted to end with him still looking vacant and I’d seen that shrinking circle effect on a lot of old films so it seemed fitting.

  4. joltster permalink
    13/07/2011 1:34 am

    Mazel Tov! Good Luck! Hope you win! This is a really cute film 🙂

  5. Jo Pfeffer permalink
    13/07/2011 4:04 pm

    BRAVO!!! Well done on the video!!!

    Now, I guess I need to spend some time learning Portuguese — LOL!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

