Skip to content

Just a Glance

18/07/2011

spock cat cinemagraph

My First Cinemagraph!

I saw a tutorial on how to make these and I just had to have a go. How does it look? Is the size ok or does it take ages to load for you?

On my first attempt his eyes were flicking back and forth like crazy so I added in a few extra frames to make his eye movement a little slower. I was  then planning to make the whole thing black & white but after doing just the mask layer I really liked the look of those green-gold eyes staring out, especially when they look straight at you.

So, what do you think?

If you fancy having a go you can find the cinemagraph tutorial here.

21 Comments leave one →
  1. 18/07/2011 1:55 pm

    Looks great, creepy, but awesome!

    • 18/07/2011 2:07 pm

      Yes, a lot of the ones I saw have a bit of a creepy vibe to them (I think that’s what attracted me to them actually). There is something of a ‘possessed doll’ feel to them, like ‘Ahhh, pretty little…HOLY C**P, IT MOVED!’

  2. Helen Kitching permalink
    18/07/2011 2:05 pm

    Spooky! Looks great Ellie, well done – film maker in the making!

    • 18/07/2011 2:11 pm

      Thank you. That is fast becoming my dream – I love playing with the film editing programs. I’m trying to teach myself as much as possible.

  3. 18/07/2011 2:07 pm

    What do I THINK??? I’m too bumfuzzled & amazed to be thinking. WOWOWOWOW!!!! Love it. But totally.

  4. 18/07/2011 2:09 pm

    Pee Ess: I’m sticking to words & stills. The tek-skills involved in that tutorial make my teeth hurt. Cats off to you for going at it. I’m going to lie down now.

    • 18/07/2011 2:20 pm

      It did have me stumped in a couple of places but I was determined to it. There’s one stage that I’m still not sure how I did it, but hey, it worked in the end!

  5. 18/07/2011 5:28 pm

    I really REALLY like it. I’m bookmarking the site!

    • 19/07/2011 8:40 am

      I can’t wait to see what you do. I’m going to try to get some suitable film of Zé to make another one.

  6. 18/07/2011 7:21 pm

    WOW! At first I just liked the photo itself and didn’t really properly look at it because I was doing something else while the page was loading and then I was like: WHOA!
    You really did a really good job there!

    • 19/07/2011 8:42 am

      Marcelo was the same. I was showing him it and he was making aproving noises than suddenly said, ‘Aagh! It moves!’ Hahahaha

  7. 19/07/2011 9:42 am

    Holy shit!
    That was my response when the eyes moved.

    Great job 🙂

    • 19/07/2011 11:15 am

      🙂 Thank you, that’s just the reaction I was hoping for!

  8. Jo Pfeffer permalink
    19/07/2011 5:45 pm

    This scared the crap outa me when I first looked at it — LOL!!!

    Great job!!! 😮 😉 😀

  9. Hilda permalink
    20/07/2011 3:07 pm

    Great job Eleanor! I wasn’t freaked out in the least (and maybe that should worry me??? Lol). It’s subtle enough that it’s almost as if he’s right here infront of me; very peaceful. Can’t wait to see what you do with Ze’s baby-blues!

    • 20/07/2011 11:07 pm

      Thanks. I was trying for something subtle. Some of the examples I’ve seen have a lot of movement but I wanted mine to be only slight.
      Zé’s not helping at all. He is way too interested in the camera to sit still, so his cinemagraph may be a long time coming.

  10. 21/07/2011 11:22 am

    I can’t see him move because I use my mobilephone (The one Kame and Kroten used for their header). I will have to see this again in my PC this weekend.

    I have read the link and wow…I want to try it too. Thanks for the link, Eleanor 🙂

    • 22/07/2011 1:44 pm

      Oh, really? I didn’t realise that these don’t work on mobiles. It’s good to know though – thanks for telling me. I hope you like it when you can view it on your computer.

      You should definitely try it. They are easy to do so long as you can get a few seconds of good, non-shaky film (a tripod would be great but I don’t have one). Good luck! 😀

    • 23/07/2011 12:50 pm

      I have just seen it!! a bit scary but cool!!

      Hmm…I will share my gif pictures one day.I made it last year

  11. 23/07/2011 2:10 pm

    Thats very interesting…I actually have not see that type of effect before. It certainly brings the picture to life. I agree with a comment earlier though…just a bit scary 🙂

Leave a Reply

