Skip to content

A Huge Thank You

11/08/2011

I’d like to say a huge “THANK YOU” to all of the people who have sent me messages of support over the last week and a bit. Some of those messages were as comments under the last post, others have been by email from friends and family and a couple were from people I’ve never met, likely never will, sent through the ‘contact me’ form. The fact that people I do not even know have taken the time to write and send me such warm-hearted messages about their own experiences is a really beautiful thing. It’s comforting to know that other people have had to make this same decision to protect the health of a (two-legged) loved one. Everyone said that it was an incredibly upsetting decision they’d had to make, but they made it because they had to. As I have had to.

I had a message today asking for an update. I’ve been a little scared to post since I made the announcement last week – I know a lot of people were unhappy with our decision but I will say again: we are NOT dumping the cats – we are looking for a good, loving, safe home(s) for them.

So, the update: We’re still looking new parents for the boys at the moment. We are trying hard to keep them together. Separating them will be a last resort. We’ve had a couple of possibles that, unfortunately, fell through, but we are still looking.

Zé checking out the bushes.

In order to broaden their horizons and address their ‘scaredy cat-ness’ we’ve started to let the boys roam around outside everyday. I really want to get them a little more used to people, kids, other animals and the big wide world before they are thrust into a new and unfamiliar place. And well…it’s amazing. Zé is a different cat now! He’s got so much more confidence and when he gets outside he’s a proper little tiger. I’ve never subscribed to the cats-should-be-kept-indoors thing (it’s just not how we view cats in Britain, nor in Brazil from what I’ve seen) and seeing the boys just wandering around the apartment all day, every day was becoming quite sad. They’d started jumping from the windows more frequently in their efforts to go out and explore, so now I just let them out of the front door…which is much more sensible.

A few days ago, one of our neighbours asked me if Spock was pregnant! Hahaha. So, I think this newly discovered out-door exercise may be just what he needs.

Spock thinks the bannister is a little high.

They are both so happy outside: sniffing things, jumping at the butterflies, hiding in the bushes and brushing noses with the local kitties. To me this is how cats should be. I’m really hoping that their new people have a house (not a piddly little apartment like ours) so that they are free to come and go as they like, sleep in the sun, amble through the undergrowth and spend all day munching on grasshoppers and ‘roaches (both particular delicacies as far as the lads are concerned!)

Is it time to go back in now?

Thank you again for the messages. They are really helping to buoy my spirits.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. 13/08/2011 3:56 pm

    Awwwww, the pictures of the boys are so cute! Letting them go outside and stuff is a really smart move, I think you are right in thinking that this will help them in their new home. 😦 I am continuing to pray for you, and I really hope everything will work out well.

    ~B~

    • 14/08/2011 10:57 am

      Hi, thank you. They are really loving being outside. I’d been waiting until they had been ‘done’. Spock is really funny – he has friends in the outside world now. I see him mooching around with some of the other condo cats. They are still wary of people (kids especially) but they seen to have a lot more confidence overall. They come back in happy and purring and full of life – Spock struts around like a proper man-cat when he’s had a good day of investigating 🙂

  2. 16/08/2011 11:01 am

    I didn’t think for a minute that you wouldn’t do right by the boys. I do hope you can keep them together but two loving safe homes if one is not possible would be just fine. I’d take these boys in a second if I weren’t so far away! Don’t feel guilty about this (you must put your husband first) and do keep blogging and let us know how it all turns out.

    Paws crossed!

    Lizzie & 3 kitties

    • 17/08/2011 11:11 am

      Thank you. We’re going to have to widen our search a bit now. None of our cat-owning friends here are able to take them, so we’ll have to put the word out to friends of friends and work colleagues. It’s been nice having this bit of extra time with them.

  3. nan permalink
    19/08/2011 4:28 pm

    I have to say that an outdoor cat is not a safe cat. They may get hit by a car, get into poison or antifreeze, wander off, get worms. I volunteer for a feral cat program and we do not adopt cats out if the new family does not agree to keep their cats inside. Once let outside, cats want outside! It’s harsh, but they are safer and live longer healthier lives inside.

    Good luck on fiding a home for your beautiful cats!

    • 13/09/2011 11:49 am

      Hi, thanks for your comment. I think this issue is one of the biggest differences between how Americans and Brits view cat care. In the UK you would be thought to be a bit strange if you insisted on keeping your cats indoors at all times (unless you lived in a city high-rise or similar). I knew a boy once whose family had show cats. These were kept indoors and it really was considered quite odd. It’s obviously a difference in culture between our countries.

      Of course there are dangers outside the home but that is the case for all of us; adults, kids or animals. I think the bigger issue is quality of life. Now, I know we will disagree on this, but I feel strongly that cats should be allowed outdoors. To me, it doesn’t seem natural or kind to cage them. They are creatures with wild hearts and to deny them the outside world does not sit well with me. Seeing the difference in my two since they started going out has only reaffirmed this. Zé is happier, more confident, more active. Spock is able to run off more steam and has lost his extra belly fat. Seeing the pair of them playing and hunting around in grass makes me so happy for them.

      Thanks again for your comment though. I know we all want to do what we think is best for our cats.

  4. 07/09/2011 4:06 pm

    both of my kitty friends are outside explorers. my mom could never keep them inside. She tried but with no luck they always escaped!

    • 13/09/2011 11:30 am

      Hi, sorry for the late reply. I haven’t checked here for a little while. The cats are loving being outside and they get so excited when we go out for a walk with them, trotting along beside us and trying their best to trip us up! 🙂

Leave a Reply

