Skip to content

Making a Comeback!

06/10/2011
tags: , , ,

cat snuggles

Hello everyone. I’m sorry I have not updated the blog for so long, but I have some news now.

Firstly (and most importantly), Spock and Zé are still with us. After the first couple of weeks of looking for a new home for them things sort of trailed off. We had a couple of near-misses – people who were going to take them, but who then couldn’t (one lady was all set to have them until one of her children said that she didn’t want to have any animals around the grandchild).

But anyway, now that they have been neutered have had all of their injections, Spock and Zé are both spending a lot of time outdoors. They love mooching around the condo’s gardens and pathways. There’s a huge open, grassy space by our building (it was going to be the spot for another building but the developers apparently changed their minds) and they play there, chasing butterflies and pouncing on jumping bugs.

I’d noticed that Marcelo is getting more and more chatty with them. When they come home, full of excitement from their day at ‘work’, they like to tell us about it. Meowing and charging at our legs with their tails held high, purring at full volume and demanding our attention! One day Marcelo just said, simply, “It’s going to be really hard to let them go.” So we talked it over again and have decided to wait a little. We are going to see how his allergies and asthma are now that the cats are not shedding their dander in here 24 hours a day.

If we have another crisis, another hospital trip, then we will have to go back to plan ‘A’, but we both feel that this new situation is worth testing. The cats are not under his nose all the time now…will this be enough to make a difference? It’s certainly possible, so we will see how it goes.

Finally, I am sorry that I have not been keeping up to date with my friends’ blogs. At first it was just too hard to log into here or to read things that came through on my ‘Bewhiskered’ email account. Then, there were just so many unread updates that I was swamped and didn’t know where to start.

I have tonnes of pictures to upload here since my last posts so I’ll be logging on much more regularly again. I hope to be able to catch up with you all a bit. I’m working on getting my little craft business going so I can’t be doing full-time blogging like I used to, but I would like to get back on the scene.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. 06/10/2011 3:22 pm

    Bugs and I are so glad to see you again. We thought of you so often. For now, I’m so glad to hear the happiness in this post. And now, one day at a time moving forward.

    • 07/10/2011 10:53 am

      Yes, that’s exactly it – one day at a time and see how it goes. I didn’t want to announce it here too soon in case we had to back peddle immediately. How’s everything with you and Bugs? I’ll come over to see you and try to catch up a bit! 🙂

  2. Trudy permalink
    06/10/2011 11:29 pm

    Watch out for pollen, etc on them when they come back in. Can trigger allergires, asthma. Maybe a quick wipe down with a damp cloth.
    Also, I commented on your other post. It can be the cat litter that triggers allergies/asthma. The Crystals are recommended for people with asthma. No dust @ all.

    PS I have allergies & asthma too.

    • 07/10/2011 11:04 am

      Good idea, thank you. I’ll get some wipes in. I was thinking about wiping them down every so often anyway to help remove some of the dander. Giving them full-on baths all the time would not be fun (for any of us!). And I remember your comment about the cat litter. We tried the crystals once and they were awful (expensive and very quickly used up), but now that they are doing most of their business outside, having crystals in here for the odd time they do use the box would be ok. Thanks 🙂

    • Trudy permalink
      07/10/2011 11:09 am

      There might be some others with less dust–don’t know what kind you use. You might check around. Good luck!! Glad things seem to be working out. a bit better.

  3. Hilda permalink
    07/10/2011 2:56 pm

    Hello Elenore!

    I’m glad to read that things have “worked” out so far. I was so happy to read your blog once again (talk about withdrawal issues! Lol). The boys must be having such a good time exploring everyday and coming home excited with stories to “tell” of their adventures! As for Marcelo…well, it looks like they boys have made it into his heart! He seems to really understand how important these boys are to you and that he’s willing to try his hardest to make you happy. He’s a special guy! And tell him to keep talking to the boys, not only will the bond between them keep growing, but I also think it’s theraputic for the soul 🙂 Can’t wait for more stories and pictures of the boys!

    • 08/10/2011 4:51 pm

      Hi. It’s nice to know we were missed. I have lots of photos to sort through from that last few weeks so there will be more coming!

  4. 09/10/2011 3:57 am

    I’m glad things seem to be working out. It is wonderful to see your beautiful cats back on WordPress.

    • 09/10/2011 3:07 pm

      Hi, thank you. It feels good to be back.

  5. Alicat permalink
    10/10/2011 10:39 am

    Hello! Wow, I’m so glad you’re back, and back with good news too! Bless your lovely husband for being so gallant and giving it another go. I really hope the fact the kitties are out and about may make things less of an issue. I agree with wiping them down, at our local pet shop you can get these ‘oatmeal’ wipes which are nice, they are good for their coats and will keep them dust free. I do hope it works. If you have a problem finding some, let me know, I can always post some to you to try?

    I’m really crossing fingers and thumbs that things carry on getting better. Alison xx

    • 16/10/2011 9:56 am

      Hi, thank you. I haven’t managed to get to the pet shop yet, but I’ll have a look for wipes when I next go. I think the choice will be pretty limited, but hopefully they should have something. They often have bits and bobs imported from the USA.

  6. 12/10/2011 2:46 pm

    Goodness, it’s always the few days I am out of town and can’t check the blog. I am so happy to hear that things are working out. I really can not express how happy I am to see y’all back. I hope this works.

    ~B~

    PS:The boys seem to have grown up so much since you last posted…

    • 16/10/2011 9:59 am

      Hi. Thanks, we have our fingers crossed here! Yes, I think the boys have grown again lately – they must be about fully grown now, I think. Though Zé still seems to have disproportionately large paws, so maybe he’s still got some growing to do.

  7. 17/10/2011 1:33 pm

    Eleanor, there’s one more suggestion I forgot and I don’t know why, it’s one of the easiest and best. Try getting ahold of a nasal wash called “Xclear.” I like it very much for irrigating and washing the sinuses. Its magic ingredient is Xylitol, which is reputed to have antibiotic properties. Praps you can get it online? http://www.xlear.com/

  8. 24/10/2011 6:45 pm

    So glad to hear you still have the two little rascals! I have been absent for a bit myself so I am happy I didn’t miss too much on your blog at least. Even though I always love reading about Zé and Spock. Welcome back!

Leave a Reply

