Skip to content

Feline Helpful?

16/10/2011

Feline Helpful…FelineFeelin‘… Feeling Helpful?…See what I did there? 😀

cat on laptop

Sometimes my work area gets a little crowded!

Zé is great company when I’m working at home. I have to stop work 2 or 3 times for ‘full’ cuddles, but other than that he’s usually happy to just settle down near me and snooze.

But sometimes Spock and Zé (in fact, Zé especially) both seem to have a knack of knowing exactly where to sit in order to cause the most disruption to my current task.

If I get up for a break then I lose my chair. If I want a drink, Zé parks himself in front of the fridge door. If I want to do some ironing…ok, so no one wants to do ironing, but if I did, this is what I would find…

cat bed ironing boardAnd it’s not just me. They consider my husband fair game when he’s working from home too. Marcelo actually has the most desired chair in the house (most desired by cats, that is – well, ok, so I quite like to use it too!), so whenever he moves away, no matter how small the distance, he is effectively surrendering his seat to whichever of the beasts is nearest.

What happens if he doesn’t move? Spock is happy to settle for the next best thing!

Spock on a laptopI have to plan what I am making early in the day (before the cats have settled for their morning snooze) because if I want to get any sewing supplies from my main stash (cleverly kept in a big squishy cat-hammock-like suit case) I ALWAYS have to wait.

This is Zé’s (current) absolute favourite place of all time!

(I think he’s got too big for his bathroom basin bed now)

cat on sleeping on back

11 Comments leave one →
  1. 16/10/2011 11:02 am

    They always prefer pre-heated spots, don’t they! Love the last photograph. He is very comfortable, huh!

    • 16/10/2011 2:20 pm

      Even in the heat here they STILL seek out the warm(er) spots! Crazy creatures!

  2. 16/10/2011 1:06 pm

    I swear that they can mind read!

  3. Helen permalink
    16/10/2011 3:15 pm

    So many ‘purr’fect spots – don’t you just love ’em? The Kenny beast has just ‘knobbled’ your dad’s chair and James is asleep on my pillow!

    • 16/10/2011 3:44 pm

      That belly is too soft to resist!

      Kenny was never slow to pinch a good napping spot! 🙂

  4. Trudy permalink
    17/10/2011 12:12 am

    I love your pictures. I have a kitty, Curry, who does exactly the same thing.

    • 17/10/2011 9:54 am

      Thank you. I think all cats are born opportunists. But they’re so sneaky and cheeky about it that I can’t help but laugh.

  5. 17/10/2011 7:20 am

    Such a beautiful composition in the first picture.
    You made it all sound not so frustrating as it could :)I mean, cats who constantly wish to use humans or humans’ computers as their cradles can be frustrating at times 🙂

    • 17/10/2011 9:42 am

      No, I don’t get frustrated. I find it quite funny. I love walking into a room and finding a cat sleeping in a crazy place. It really amuses me, the places they chose as beds.

  6. 20/10/2011 2:03 pm

    I’m with you! Kitties are alway helpful though one must sometimes relocate them. Gently of course. These are lovely photos…

    Lizzie & 3 kitties

Leave a Reply

